BOP Nominations


To: All Practicing Mississippi Pharmacists


From: Beau Cox, Pharm D, MPhA Executive Director


Re: Mississippi Board of Pharmacy District 5 Term Expiring June 30th, 2022


The Mississippi State Board of Pharmacy shall consist of seven (7) appointed members. At least one (1) appointment shall be made from each congressional district. Each appointed member of the board shall be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, from a list of five (5) names submitted by the Mississippi Pharmacists Association, with input from the Magnolia Pharmaceutical Society, the Mississippi Independent Pharmacies Association (MIPA), Mississippi Society of Health-System Pharmacists (MSHP) and Mississippi College of Clinical Pharmacy (MCCP) and other pharmacist associations or societies. Of the members appointed, one (1) shall, at the time of appointment, have had five (5) years’ experience as a pharmacist at a facility holding an institutional permit, and one (1) shall, at the time of appointment, have had five (5) years’ experience as a pharmacist at a facility holding a retail permit. Any person appointed to the board shall be limited to two (2) full terms of office during any fifteen-year period. The appointments of members from congressional districts as provided under this section shall be made from the congressional districts as they existed on July 1, 2001. 


At the expiration of a term, members of the board shall be appointed in the manner prescribed in subsection (1) of this section for terms of five (5) years from the expiration date of the previous terms. If an election is required to narrow the number of potential candidates for nominations to the board, the Mississippi Pharmacists Association shall provide a ballot to each pharmacist holding a valid Mississippi license. To be qualified to be a member of the board, a person shall: a) Be an adult citizen of Mississippi for a period of at least five (5) years preceding his appointment to the board; b) Be a pharmacist licensed and in good standing to practice pharmacy in the State of Mississippi; and c) Have actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in Mississippi for a period of at least five (5) years.


The term for the MS Board of Pharmacy Member District 5, Larry Calvert, will be expiring June 30th 2022 and he will not be eligible for another term per the regulation above.  The Mississippi Pharmacists Association will be accepting nominations for this position from November 17th, 2021 through January 15th, 2022. If there are more than 5 nominations, there will be an electronic ballot sent to every pharmacist holding a valid MS Pharmacist License in order to narrow the list of candidates given to the governor to 5 for each district. 


If you meet the criteria above and are interested in applying, please submit the Application for the MS State Board of Pharmacy and a certified letter from the secretary of state or circuit clerk’s office stating that you live in Old Congressional District 5 to MPhA at PO Box 16861 Jackson, MS 39236 or by January 15th, 2022. 


The application for the MS Board of Pharmacy can be found here, an example letter needed from the circuit clerk’s office can be found here, and a map of the old congressional districts can be found here.  


If you have any questions, please contact our office at 601-981-0416 or

Thank you



Beau Cox, PharmD

Executive Director

Mississippi Pharmacists Association


PO Box 16861

Jackson, MS 39236